Trends: Summer 2014 Swimwear

The countdown to summer is on! A little under a month until Memorial Day Weekend and if you are anything like me, you’ve been prepping your bathing suit wardrobe since the first day of spring. What trends can you expect to see near the shore this summer? I’ve noticed a few distinct styles while browsing my favorite brands’ collections. Some I am totally ready to rock…others, no so much. Read on to get my take on Summer 2014’s swim styles. Which look(s) are you ready to try out at the beach, pool or lounging at a BBQ?

Mesh 

 

Mesh Swimsuit

 

Mesh One-piece Swimsuit from Motel (nastygal)

In one-pieces and bikinis, mesh seems to be taking over the swim scene. If you aren’t so comfortable with showing skin a one piece with mesh inserts may be just for you. I personally love the mesh insert crop top bikinis I’ve seen, but for the sake of tan lines I’m not sure I want to mess with mesh.

Retro Waistlines

Tori Praver Swimwear Resort 2014

(Tori Praver Swim)

The high rise bottom. This trend started as a pinup style suit and is now evolving into more of a 60s, 70s influenced look. I love this Tori Praver suit with the crochet on the side. This style only looks flattering if the bottom is a bit cheeky (see next post) because otherwise the high rise bottom looks like a diaper. Great option for covering up a bit.

Cheeky Bottoms

Acacia Swimwear 2014

(Acacia Swimwear)

Anyone who has been to a surf town knows this is the true beach girl’s pick for a suit. Those who practically live on the beach must be more comfortable with letting it all hang out. Yet I’m seeing more of this trend start to emerge into mainstream swimwear (cough, Victoria Secret cough). My motto is if you got it, flaunt it and you are only young once.

Festival-Ready Swim

Mara Hoffman Swimwear

Mara Hoffman bikini (freepeople’s blog)

Boho, ‘native,’ ‘aztec,’ and geo prints are all the rage since Coachella photos blanketed the fashion blogs. Mara Hoffman-esque prints are cropping up all over swim this season but let’s not forget Mara started this trend! Bring on these groovy prints, I’m ready for a summer of love.

90s

Beach Riot Red Bikini

(Beach Riot)

With all the Baywatch looking swimwear I’ve seen this spring I am surprised the show isn’t getting a remake. This suit reminds me of something Kelly from Saved by The Bell would wear. Not my cup of tea but if you want to react some Pam Anderson running scenes or feel like Donna & Kelly from 90210 this is your trend. Look for high-cut one pieces, crop tops, and neon colors.

Which trend are you ready to try?

 

Leave a comment